In North Carolina, larceny is basically any crime that involves taking or receiving another person’s property without their consent. This term can be used interchangeably with “theft.”
The state doesn’t treat all larceny offenses as equal. As such, three statutes provide guidelines for handling such crimes. The possible penalty for an offense depends on the value of the stolen item and the role of the accused in the crime.
In this post, we’re going to help you learn more about misdemeanor larceny and felony larceny in North Carolina.
Keep on reading to learn more!
1. Misdemeanor Larceny
Misdemeanor larceny is any larceny crime that involves misdemeanors. As such, they’re considered as “petty misdemeanors.” The NC law has three classifications for such crimes:
- Class 1 – This is any crime that involves theft of property valued at $1,000 or less
- Class 2 – If you have been charged with a second offense of concealment of merchandise, your crime will fall under class 2
- Class 3 – Class 3 is for all first offenses of concealment of merchandise
You can commit the offense of concealment of merchandise if officials arrest you with concealed goods in your clothing or another place. This crime is also known as shoplifting.
2. Felony Larceny
North Carolina laws classify this crime as Class H. It involves larceny of property valued at over $1,000. However, felony larceny is not limited to theft of property valued at over $1,000 only.
There are also other cases that can qualify as a felony regardless of the value of the property. Such circumstances include:
- Theft of property from another person
- Theft involving breaking and entering a house (burglary)
- Theft of explosive devices, firearms, records or papers from the North Carolina State Archives
3. Penalties for Larceny in NC
As you can see, the difference between misdemeanor larceny and felony larceny in North Carolina is not that complicated. It all depends on the value of the stolen property.
Larceny crimes attract different penalties depending on the classification of your case. Here is a breakdown of the possible penalties:
- Class 1 – For this crime, you can get a jail term of one to 45 days if you have no prior convictions
- Class 2 – You can escape a prison sentence if you’re imprisoned for at least 72 hours and perform 72 hours of community service
- Class 3 – You’ll need to complete 24 hours of community service to avoid a sentence of imprisonment
- Class H (felony) – The penalty for this crime is incarceration for about four to eight months depending on several factors involved in the case
Keep in mind that there is also the possibility of civil penalties. In this case, you may need to compensate the property owner for the value of the property or any damage to it. You may also need to reimburse the property owner for the legal costs they incurred as a result of the action.
Misdemeanor Larceny – Final Thoughts
Now, the difference between misdemeanor larceny and felony larceny in NC is clear. Regardless of your crime, all larceny offenses can result in imprisonment, unless otherwise.
If you or your loved one has been arrested for theft, you don’t need to spend your night in jail. You can rely on All City Bail Bonds for professional bail bond services. Just reach out to us anytime.